MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship

Do you have a senior high school student serving on your school board as a student representative? If so, please encourage them to apply for the MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship. Each spring, MSBA will award $3,000 scholarships to two Minnesota students.  To qualify for the 2021 scholarship: 

1. The student’s school board must be a member of MSBA.

 2. The student must be a high school senior graduating after the spring 2021 semester.

 3. The student’s service as a school board member must be during his/her senior year.

 4. The student will be a full-time postsecondary student in fall 2021.

Scholarship Application

Click here to download the 2021 MSBA Student School Board Scholarship application!

The application deadline is noon Monday, March 15, 2021.

If you have any questions about the scholarship program, email Greg Abbott at

Thinking About Adding a Student School Board Member?

Are you thinking about adding a student school board member? Here are some guidelines.

MSBA Student School Board Member Scholarship Winners

  • 2020: Lucy Browning (Chaska High School) and Adam Koller (Worthington High School)

  • 2019: Deon Estebo (Redwood High School) and Andrew Kroll (Pine Island High School)

  • 2018: Ashley Rensted (White Bear Lake Area High School) and Zachary Riffle (Mounds Westonka High School)

  • 2017: Nathan Hagerott (Caledonia High School) and London Lowmanstone (Hopkins High School)

  • 2016: McKinley Lain (Sauk Rapids-Rice High School) and Taylor Nelson (Woodbury High School)

  • 2015: Amber Bennett (Proctor High School) and Giancarlo Marconi (Austin High School)

  • 2014: Tim Bergeland (Hopkins High School) and Erik Thibault (Duluth East High School)

  • 2013: Stephanie Chavez-Estrada (Richfield High School) and Molly Sandstrom (Chisago Lakes High School)

  • 2012: Michael Gaytko (Waseca High School) and Heather Rolfing (Lewiston-Altura High School)

  • 2011: Marguerite Haggerty (Cannon Falls High School) and Maraki Ketema (White Bear Lake Area High School)

  • 2010: Kai Fei (Duluth East High School) and Tanwaporn Ohl (Cass Lake-Bena High School)

  • 2009: Ethan Lang (Hopkins High School) and Kendra Lynn (Cambridge-Isanti High School)