The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) announced January 10, 2018, that the U.S. Department of Education approved Minnesota’s plan to implement the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). Minnesota’s plan places equity at its foundation, and outlines the values, goals and strategies — established through two years of public input, at more than 300 public meetings — that will guide the state’s public school system going forward. 

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed by President Barack Obama on December 10, 2015. This bipartisan measure reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act, the nation's education law. See the information below regarding Minnesota's ESSA State Accountability Plan. Visit the Minnesota Department of Education's ESSA webpage for more information.

ESSA Made Easy for School Board Members

The passage of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires both states and school districts to make decisions on how to implement different components of the new law. MSBA has attempted to define key decisions by unit of government to help you understand how the new law will impact your school district.

Access MSBA's "ESSA Made Easy for School Board Members" sheet.

ESSA State Plan Development Timeline

The Minnesota Department of Education has developed a Minnesota State Plan Development Timeline for the Every Student Succeeds Act for shareholders. Click here to access the State Plan Development Timeline.

MSBA Advocates For You

The MSBA Board of Directors discussed the Every Student Succeeds Act with federal lawmakers during NSBA's Advocacy Institute in June 2016.

On July 29, MSBA filed public comment via a letter in response to the U.S. Education Department's "Notice of Proposed Rulemaing" implementing provisions of the Every Student Succeeds Act related to accountability and state plans. Access MSBA's letter to the U.S. Department of Education.

MSBA Executive Director Kirk Schneidawind serves on the state's Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Accountability System Advisory Committee.